Hi, it’s been a minute…

I’m just checking in with some updates.

First of all; Happy New Year! 😅🥳

Yes, I know, it’s March. I’m a minute late with my New Year’s greeting but the year is still fresh so, just take it.

I wish you a happy, peaceful, joyous, and successful 2024 and beyond! Honestly, January was such a long month that it felt like a year. January was a tough year but we made it! Well done guys! February passed in a flash, and now we’re here. Hello March, how are you? Awesome, I presume.

”What’s News?”

I don’t have much news to share since my previous newsletters. This is mostly just a check-in to remind you all that I’m still here; a “proof of life” if you will. So, hi, yes, I’m still here. I’m still alive. You’re welcome. 🙃

David Venter - March 2024

Although nothing truly newsworthy has happened lately, I do have an exciting goal to share, so keep reading to find out what’s next. As for everything else, including frequent updates, daily activities, random thoughts, and the occasional shit-posting, there is 𝕏. If you aren’t already following me on 𝕏, you really should! That’s where I share most of what’s happening in real-time. But that’s also where you will be introduced to my potty mouth, my mental health struggles, my taboos, my disdain for organized religion, and my obsession with nature and nomadic living, as I post about that rather frequently.

I try my best to behave in a traditional socially acceptable manner but I have no filter so, If you’re conservative, religious, and/or easily offended, then please don’t follow me (for your own sake) but if you do; don’t say I didn’t warn you.

“How’s life?”

I’m still a loner. Loadshedding is still happening. My professional career is still on pause. And I’ve just been at home, keeping to myself, and weathering the storms of ADHD, autism, family trauma, anxiety, and isolation.

Objectively speaking, life is shit but I still love life as a whole so, I do my best to remain positive and hopeful, and to do what I can, where I am, with what I have because, my hopes, dreams, and goals are still very much alive.

I’ve been pushing myself to get out of the house a lot more lately. Spending more time in nature is having a positive effect on my over-all mental health, which brings me to my exciting goal that I’m now ready to share with you…

“What’s next?”

If you’ve been following me on 𝕏, or keeping an eye on my wishlist, you’re probably already aware of my obsession - my special interest - and my number one focus, dream, and goal for what comes next: That goal is Van Life.

If you don’t know what Van Life is; Van Life is the practice of living as a nomad inside a vehicle, basically like in a motor-home but more compact and more maneuverable; a cargo van, panel van, or microbus where the rear cargo or passenger section has been converted into a more compact version of a motor-home camper; an off-grid micro-home on wheels that’s compact enough to go nearly anywhere and that doesn’t require a power or water point at a dedicated camp site in order to use its interior amenities. It’s the ultimate freedom; off-grid living, on the road, out in nature, anywhere, and everywhere nomadic lifestyle.

“Why Van Life?”

I love nature and exploring the land but I don’t get out much, not as much as I would like to, mostly due to public transport stressors. Most of my friends also live far away, all across the country, and I’m currently unable to easily travel to, from, and between all the different locations. Being on the Autism Spectrum with ADHD and severe social anxiety makes traditional work, life, and travel extremely difficult for me.

After much research, Van Life appears to be the ultimate solution. My goal is to work, travel and explore in the safety and comfort of my own home - my own little safe space but on wheels. I would love to get a VW (Microbus/Caravelle) Syncro 4x4 offroading/overlanding camper van, either by buying an already converted Syncro camper, or by buying a cargo or passenger variant and doing a custom camper conversion on it myself. Doing the interior buildout myself also seems like a really fun and educational project. Just thinking about doing it makes me happy!

I also think that it would be really cool to have a van that’s roughly the same age as me, that’s why I’m specifically aiming for a classic late 80’s Caravelle Syncro. Here’s an example:

My plan is to create the ultimate off-grid camper van, to live on the road, and to create content of my travels, explorations, and experiences; reviewing beautiful locations, having fun, and making great memories to share with you. I will also continue making electronic music and digital art on the go, and I’d like to get into landscape photography. a 4x4 Syncro will enable me to go places that 2WD vans can’t reach, for the ultimate off-grid, off-roading and overlanding lifestyle.

Doing this will allow me to get out, explore nature, and actually experience life in my own way and on my own terms, without the anxiety of traditional society, public transport, busy hotels, booking agents, busy camps and resorts, and busy restaurants that I struggle to deal with. With a camper van I can travel in peace in my own space, cook for myself, sleep in my own bed, work remotely from literally anywhere - especially in beautiful places that spark creativity and inspiration, and I’ll feel safe and comfortable knowing that my home is right there with me.

I’ll have the freedom to go anywhere, at any time, in my own time, without having to worry about schedules, bookings, and other anxiety-inducing things that require a stressful routine and a lot of social interaction. I can enjoy and experience life, nature, and freedom, and I can create content along my journey; videos, art, photography, and music to share with you.

I’ve researched Van Life extensively, studied many custom van builds, watched countless hours of YouTube videos showcasing all things good and bad about this lifestyle and the viability of doing it here in South Africa. It’s doable. The only reason I’m not already doing it is due to a lack of funding. The good news is, that I’ve devised a plan that, should my current income and supporter funding continue for the foreseeable future, I’ll be able to purchase or build a camper van in approximately 4-6 years.

THANK YOU!

I am beyond grateful for the support I am already receiving from those listening to my music, resulting in royalty payments from streaming services, those who Buy Me a Coffee from time to time, and those who are subscribed to my Buy Me a Coffee monthly membership plans, with a special thank you to Petrus, Cornelus, and Helena. Without you, none of this would even be a possibility for me. Thank you! I am truly grateful! You are awesome!

With your continued support, I’ll be able to reach my goal in 4-6 years. But that’s quite a long time to wait. I’ll be in my early to mid 40’s so now, everything that I do over the following months and/or years will be for the sole purpose of shortening that time-frame and hopefully making it happen much sooner. Every $ earned through creative work, royalties, and all current and future supporter funding received via Buy Me a Coffee and other channels will be saved towards this goal.

I’m also looking into ways to generate additional income, and I’m asking for help in achieving this specific goal even sooner. I will continue to do what I can, where I am, with what I have, and to the best of my abilities in order to save towards my goal but I have also set up a modest yet sufficient funding goal on my wishlist that would make Van Life a reality for me even sooner.

Would You Grant a Wish?

If you’re feeling generous and are able to assist, please help me turn this dream into a reality, or if you know someone else who may be willing and able to assist, please forward this email and/or the link to my wishlist to them. I’m also willing to work in the fields of graphic design, website design, music production and photography in order to fund this goal so, if you’re in need of such services, please get in touch! 

More to Come: Watch Your Inbox!

Despite not yet having a camper van and not being able to travel very far by traditional means; I’ve already been getting out of the house and exploring nature much more than usual. I’m currently using family-owned vehicles that are at my disposal in order to go as far as I am able to go within my means, while also avoiding traditional/public travel and tourism stresses.

I’m already creating some content based on these experiences such as YouTube Videos (only one so far) and social media posts containing images of my travels. The more I get out and explore, the more I will share with you here.

I plan on posting more email newsletters around this topic so keep an eye on your Inbox for more experiences, stories, pictures, and perhaps even more videos coming soon!