Music at my fingertips. Thanks, Apple!

Logic Pro for iPad is now available and I can make music again!

Logic Pro for iPad

Apple has just released Logic Pro for iPad. If you have no idea what I’m talking about Logic Pro is the software that I use to make music. It’s a Digital Audio Workstation for music composition, recording, mixing, and production, it’s like having a music studio, and it’s what I’ve been using to make music on my iMac, along with a Midi Keyboard, studio headphones, and mic.

Due to the energy crisis in my country, and recent Hard Drive issues with my iMac, I haven’t been able to get much done in terms of music production. I recently got an iPad Pro enabling me to be creative and productive even during blackouts but it was lacking one very important thing; Logic Pro.

Until now, Logic Pro has only been available for macOS. The iPad was limited to GarageBand which is an entry-level version of Logic that’s missing many core features necessary for professional music production. Now that Logic Pro is finally available on iPadOS, I can finish my new single, and also start new music production projects right on my iPad.

What’s also really cool is that I can still use my Midi keyboard and all other studio equipment with the iPad. I simply plug everything into a USB hub connected to my iPad and it just works.

A couple of years ago, I used an iPad Air 2, but back then, the iPad felt very limited to me and ended up being of no use to me. It had no drawing stylus (No Apple Pencil), I couldn’t run my music production or graphic design software on it, and multitasking apps was a terrible experience.

The iPad has come a long way since then. It is now capable of fully replacing my need for macOS. Everything that I need to do can now be done on the iPad. I can now also work on my artistic illustration skills using the Apple Pencil in Procreate.

The only thing still missing in terms of turning the iPad into a complete tablet and laptop hybrid, and an iMac replacement, is the Apple Magic Keyboard for iPad, for which I am saving, (if you’d like to assist, I’ve added it to my wishlist here). Once I have that, the iPad will be the perfect compact, mobile, creativity, and productivity machine.

It feels strange that I no longer need my iMac or macOS. And although the iMac has a huge display, and I have an even larger secondary display connected to it, I still find myself gravitating towards the iPad even when the power is on because it’s just so much fun to use, and I can use it anywhere. I haven't even sat at my desk for longer than 30 minutes since I got the iPad.

If I ever do want to use a larger display, I can connect my 32” display to the iPad via the USD port and use it as a secondary external display for the iPad, or I can wirelessly connect the iPad to my Apple TV and mirror my iPad to the ever larger 52” display. Yet with all these options, I still find myself using the iPad on its own, with no external display because it’s just so fun to use. Rather than being chained to a desk or in front of a TV, I can chill on my bed, or outside, or pretty much anywhere and do everything that I need to do on this compact tablet with a touch interface. The iPad truly is an underrated technological marvel.

I recently ran some benchmark tests on my iMac and iPad and discovered that the iPad is 3x more powerful than my iMac. That's kind of crazy to think about. My iMac isn’t exactly new, it’s a late 2017 model but still… The iPad Pro with Apple’s M2 chip is a beast. That explains why Apple finally brought Logic Pro (and Final Cut Pro) to iPadOS because, the iPad is now more than capable of handling these professional, power-intensive desktop-class applications. I have high hopes for the future of the iPad and can't wait to see what other apps and games will also be making their way onto iPadOS.

I'm just really glad that Logic Pro is now on my iPad. Not having Logic Pro on the iPad was the one thing that made me second-guess my purchase, thinking that maybe I should've waited and saved a bit longer for a new MacBook instead. But I really wanted a drawing tablet, and I thought that I could make do with Garageband. Now that Logic Pro is on iPadOS, I'm beyond satisfied with my decision to get an iPad instead of a MacBook. Thanks, Apple! And many thanks to my supporters who made this possible!

Maybe one day, if I ever become rich, I'll buy a new MacBook Pro as well just because I can, but for now, the iPad Pro is all that I need! Now I just need to stay focused, motivated, creative, and productive in order to make the most of it, but due to my disability and struggles with mental health, that’s often a daily battle for me, so I’m not making any promises. I’m just really glad that I once again have the tools to do things when I am able to do things. Watch this space to see how it all pans out.